WE CLIMBED THE ARC DE TRIOMPHE AGAIN

IMG_0231

I still think it’s the coolest thing ever. And I still think it beats the Eiffel Tower.

I used to think that the real reason I probably preferred climbing the Arc was because it was a lot less hassle with the queuing (I only queued for about 30 seconds when we went in November).

Now, I don’t that’s true. Marisa and Abby were here a few weeks ago, and we had to wait quite a while in the queue. And again, when Arti was here, we were in quite a busy queue (it was also Easter Sunday).

And despite how busy it was, and despite the rain(!), I still preferred the Arc de Triomphe to the Eiffel Tower. Yes, nothing will ever be quite as much hassle as climbing the Eiffel Tower, so it isn’t really a fair comparison. Here are some other reasons why I like it:

  • You can take your time, and enjoy it completely!
    With the Eiffel Tower, I always feel quite rushed. Even though I know I can stay up there as long as I want considering I did the bloody climb/waited forever, the pressure of everybody else shuffling past you and almost blinding you with those god-forsaken selfie sticks really takes away from the experience.

    IMG_0236.jpgYou can enjoy it completely because there’s never really anyone in your way at the top of the Arc. You can appreciate the view from all directions, without your eyesight being at risk of a selfie stick related accident.

  • It’s free.
    Most things in Paris are free if you are a student/EU citizen below 26 years of age. It’s nice to know that such a huge tourist sight has this rule! Plus it’s a big factor as to why I’ve climbed the Arc so many times…
  • The view is great.
    Saved the obvious one for last, but I definitely much prefer the view from the Arc. It’s a lot more fun to play the “Oooo what’s that??!” game from the Arc than from the Eiffel Tower.

IMG_0219IMG_0238IMG_0239IMG_0240IMG_0241IMG_0242IMG_0243IMG_0248IMG_0251

Check out my first post on the Arc here, for some helpful tips and general info.

One thought on “WE CLIMBED THE ARC DE TRIOMPHE AGAIN

Leave a Reply

