SO, IS PARIS MORE THAN THE EIFFEL TOWER?

1Once upon a time I made a bold claim : ‘Seeking to be more than the typical “ooh la la today I went to la tour Eiffel and then ate a baguette #paris”‘

This time last year I set out with a claim to prove that Paris was more than just the Eiffel Tower.

Whilst I can’t really say I’ve seen every corner of Paris, I can definitely say that there are so many things in Paris that can mesmerize you just as much, if not more, than the well known Tour Eiffel.

Some of my favourites include the Grand Mosque, the Palais Garnier Opera and the Sainte Chapelle. I had no idea how amazing the Opera was inside, and the Sainte Chapelle is rarely talked about, so that is definitely something I’m glad to have discovered.

IMG_0448IMG_0521

IMG_0367

There were also so many things that I really wanted to see, but I didn’t get a chance to, such as Versailles. I was also desperate to climb up to the top of the Notre Dame, but the queue was always far too long, so I never ended up doing that.

So if you take all of this into account, it’s obvious, right? Paris is so much more than the Eiffel Tower.

However, there is something about it that continually gives you a sort of joy, no matter how many times you see it. Yes, climbing it is an absolute nightmare. But, you can see it from pretty much everywhere in Paris, and it is always a pleasure to walk around the 7th and see it, as well as just chill out in the Champ de Mars. I can’t quite explain it, but this landmark gives Paris everything and more – and not seeing it everyday is going to take some getting used to.

IMG_0421

So whilst Paris is certainly not limited to the Eiffel Tower, I can’t imagine there is anything else quite like it.

Be sure to check out my tourist sights category to see more of what I got up to. I can’t promise that I’ve been 100% organised and categorized everything under that tab though!

 

Leave a Reply

